Media Monday

On November 16, 2022,  the following students were inducted into the Lorena Bueker chapter of the National Honor Society at Pittsfield High School: 

Konner Allen, Caden Anstedt, Alexis Ator, Preston Bonds, Liam Bonnett, Kyle Bradshaw, Madison Burdick, Liesel Davidsmeyer, Quinn Franklin, Emma Gay, Sophie Gresham, Lainie Marable, Wyatt McClintock, Meg Musgrove, Rebecca Neupauer, Vinny Olson, Javan Petty, Allison Stambaugh, Keagen Stamper, Ethan Thompson, Brennan Tomhave, Jackson Veile, and Sadie Weir.

The National Honor Society selects members based on achievements in 4 areas:  Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character.  To be eligible to seek selection students must meet the scholarship standard of a 4.75 / 5.00 GPA.  Once academically eligible, students are invited to seek selection through a process that includes submission of information regarding their achievements in the other three pillars.  Part of this process includes participating in a formal essay writing session, and submitting two community recommendations.

The chapter at PHS plans and implements the homecoming follies for the student body, runs the hat and coat check at home boys’ basketball games, and when possible runs a blood drive each spring.  All NHS members must complete 8 hours of community service every quarter.  In addition to these traditional activities, this year NHSsponsored and ran the back to school ice cream social for the PHS student body.  

Sponsors for the local NHS Chapter are Mrs. Dawn Collver and Mrs. Kindra Phillips.